SLACO Committees

Committees List April 2021

Finance Committee

Charge: To strengthen the log-term sustainability of SLACO to carry out its mission. Strive for SLACO fiscal self-sufficiency. Create and follow procedures for disbursement of funds and increasing revenues.

Sherri Bailey, Treasurer

Fundraising Committee (a reorganization and addition to the former Fund-Raising Committee and Development Committee)

Charge:  This standing committee works with the Executive Director immediately on the steps that are necessary to make SLACO more attractive to funders, which may include establishing a track record of success with small grants, assuring that SLACO has a current audit, upgrading our outreach and social media presence, and preparing a versatile case statement about why SLACO’s work is vital to the broader community.  The committee also may find it appropriate and necessary to select some members to make personal appeals for contributions.  Sub Committees Co-chairs to be selected by the committee.

Greg Meyer, Chairperson

Program Committee

Charge: To strengthen member organizations through targeted program and monitoring of programs.

Membership Support Committee

Charge: Assist member neighborhoods to develop new leaders and increase effective networking on key neighborhood issues and assisting with a Neighborhood Association Toolkit.

Amanda Davis – Chairperson

Sherri Bailey

Mark Dowdy

Communications Committee

Charge: To create and implement a Communications Strategy for SLACO

Executive Committee is heading this.

Community Development Committee

Charge: To promote urban renewal, neighborhood stabilization and community initiatives in an effort to alleviate poverty

Sundy Whiteside, Co-Chair

Angela Drake, Co-Chair

Eltoreon Hawkins

Nominating (report due at December board meeting):

Lillie Clay

Greg Meyer

Carole Johnson

Neighborhood Roundtable Steering Committee:

Charge: Develop and implement plans for the Neighborhood Roundtable, a member benefit to SLACO organizations.

SLACO Regional Neighborhoods Conference (chair to be determined by the group)

Charge:  The ad hoc conference committee joins other community members and professionals in planning the details of the SLACO Regional Neighborhood Conference. The committee will plan the program, invite the presenters, coach the presenters in preparing session descriptions, answer questions from presenters, plan the logistics of the day, and plan and execute marketing and advertising efforts, all with support from the Executive Director. Sub Committees are Logistics, Program, Marketing and Advertising

Neighborhoods United for Change/Sisterhoods Working Group

Charge: An ad hoc committee to refine and oversee the summer, 2019, implementation of the winning idea from our 250 Ways to Improve Your Neighborhood contest.  This program is for interracial exchange and dialogue, with a basis in visits to one another’s neighborhoods.

Judith Arnold – Project Manager

By-Laws – (As needed)

Strategic Plan Monitoring (should report in December):

Charge: Promote “strategic doing” culture and approach within SLACO to advance organization goals, and building of supportive collaboration networks.

Executive Committee – Meet 2nd Monday of the Month – 3:30pm

Sundy Whiteside, President

Angela Drake, Secretary

Amanda Davis, Vice President

Sherri Bailey, Treasurer

Mark Dowdy, Sargent of Arms/Parliamentarian

Greg Meyer

Town and Gown

Charge: To bring about collaboration between the Universities and Colleges in St. Louis and Neighborhoods

Mark Abbott – Chair

Leah Sweetman

Nancy Thompson

Liz Kramer

Advocacy Issue Selection: was Established in 2015

Charge:  This ad hoc committee prepares a recommendation for the Board meeting regarding the major issue to be the focus of SLACO’s advocacy efforts for the next three years.   The recommendation should describe the topic, the rationale for why it is important, potential allies in the advocacy push, and any specific focus and limitations on the topic that would be wise choices for SLACO.  After the issue is adopted, committee members may choose to become part of a standing committee that continues through implementation, but with the understanding that committee members may opt out at that point.

Mark Abbott, chair

Greg Meyer

Sherri Bailey

Some Youth Participants